Books, Daily Happenings, Running

Is It 4 PM Yet?

Happy Saturday! I don’t know about you but I am so happy it’s the weekend! New Jersey is supposed to get some snow today which is exciting and perfectly aligns with my desire for a lazy day. Have a great one 🙂

img_5609

Since I got home at 1:30 am, I opted to sleep in instead of going into work at my normal time. Don’t worry, my boss said it would be okay since I had some crazy hours this week. I woke up at 6:45 and figured why not take advantage of going in late to get my run in. After not running all week, it felt so nice to get outside and move! I did 3 miles that were supposed to be easy but my legs had some energy so they were a little too fast to be considered recovery miles.

img_5610

When I got home, I stretched and foam rolled. I was hungry so I grabbed a handful of dried baby sweet pineapple from Trader Joe’s. This stuff is delicious! You should pick it up because it’s almost like a healthy fruit snack. The only ingredient is pineapple so while some may say it’s high in sugar, that’s all naturally occurring so I don’t mind at all. I snacked on it while I got ready.

img_5611
Yes I used my notebook as a plate…please don’t judge me! 

As I have previous said, my coworker brings in donuts every Friday. I don’t usually have one but yesterday I did. I figured why not give yourself a pat on the back for showing up to work right 😉 Since I got there a little over 2 hours late, there weren’t a ton of options but I picked one that was gingerbread and it was pretty tasty.  Even with showing up late, I felt like I spent the whole day counting down until 4 pm when I could finally head out the door. Luckily my boss let me leave early, woohoo!

I recommend not going to the grocery store the night before it’s supposed to snow. My normal Friday grocery routine takes about 30 minutes total but it took over an hour yesterday. It was as if the forecast called for 3-6 feet instead of the 3-6 inches that was forecasted. Although I did meet an old man who started talking to me about Rutgers and Alex which was interesting. When I got home, I was so happy to close the door to our apartment for the night.

img_5612

Alex and I caught up on the week since getting home at 1:30 am wasn’t exactly optimal chatting time. We hung out on the couch and I started my next book. During work at lunch, I finished “Death at the Door” and would honestly say just skip it. The outcome was really predictable and I wasn’t as grabbed as I thought I would be in the book. I was more than happy to pick the last book from my library pile: “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe” by Fannie Flagg. This book was actually recommended to me by Alex’s grandma! I’ll give a review when I read a little more.

img_5613

I was in no desire to cook last night so I grabbed a pot and boiled some water. Tortellini and ravioli are two prepared foods that Alex and I try to always have in our freezer. Sometimes we have both while others just one. I grabbed a bag of tortellini and threw it in the boiling water. Once it was done, I drained it then put the pasta back to cover in pesto sauce. Viola! Dinner was complete and delicious! I opted to top it with a little parmesan cheese for a little something extra.

To end the night, we (and by we I mean Alex) got a fire going and we curled up on the couch. We watched “The Polar Express” which is such a cute movie. Plus Tom Hanks is a voice in it and he’s my favorite actor. When the movie ended, we enjoyed the fire a bit longer before heading to bed.

Question of the day: What did you have for dinner last night?

3 thoughts on “Is It 4 PM Yet?”

    1. My flight from Denver to Chicago was delayed so I missed the original flight to Philly. I got rebooked on a later flight which landed shorter before midnight so by the time I got my bag, car and got home it was 1:30! Way to late for me haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment